We begin at home

home grown blueberries

New Hampshire is my home; it is where I grew up, where I learned to love gardening, cooking, farmers, and everything outdoors. And so it seems perfectly fitting that I begin this blog where I have my roots. After all, all of our food begins with a tiny seed pushing its roots into the soil around it before surging upwards.

It’s also quite fortuitous that I do not have to go far to forage for food. All I need to do is push the front door open and walk down the short hill to the garden next to the barn. With a small bucket in the crook of my elbow, I reach my arms into the thick raspberry bushes and fill my bucket with the red and peach-colored berries.

So maybe my parents aren’t exactly farmers. They do have a barn and a tractor, and grow enough food to necessitate canning and freezing, but they do not sell any of their produce. And in fact, their annual vegetable garden is growing smaller each year, being supplanted by perennial berries instead. They have 3 beds of strawberries, 2 of golden raspberries, 1 of red raspberries, 1 of rhubarb, and innumerable blueberry bushes – some actively cultivated, some growing wild below the oak trees. They also have grapes, climbing over a trellis in the back yard, that will become jelly this fall. Their cherry trees are small but gave us buckets of small tart fruit earlier this summer and the pie never lasted more than a day.

The only annuals left are about a dozen tomatoes and almost as many potatoes. All the beds used to be annuals, save for the rhubarb. Time and insects eventually wore them down. My father ceded victory to the asparagus beetles after four seasons of ruined harvests. Deer always managed to harvest the corn before my parents could, and the pumpkins seemed forever plagued by a mildew and dropped blossoms. Such is the life of a farmer, I mean gardener.

Happily, all of those annuals, and many many more are available just down the road at the local farmstand and at the farmers markets that can be found within 10 miles, no matter which direction I leave their house. And yet at none of these places have I seen raspberries, especially the golden raspberries. The last I checked, the “local” chain supermarket was selling tiny amounts of berries (from California I think) for nearly $5. If you use that market parameter, we’re picking at least $40 of berries every day. And we’ve made some delectable jams.

Fallgold raspberry
2 Comments Add yours

  1. “We begin at home Locavore del Mundo” was a extremely nice post,
    . Continue writing and I will keep on browsing!
    Thanks for the post ,Eldon

  2. “We begin at home | Locavore del Mundo” was indeed a great
    blog post. If merely there was considerably more web blogs
    just like this excellent one in the web. Regardless, many thanks for your personal
    precious time, Rodney

Leave a Reply

